Niles Cub Scout and Boy Scout Pack 578

How Scouts Earn Badges
Earning Badges

Info on Dens and Badges

Advancement Plan

Recognition is important to young boys. The Cub Scouting advancement plan provides fun for the boys, gives them a sense of personal achievement as they earn badges, and strengthens family understanding as adult family members work with boys on advancement projects.

Parents, you can work on badges and activities with your scout at home. Read your scout's book for more information. Your scout's experience depends partly on you. Have fun together, try something new, and Do Your Best! :-)

Tiger Cub. The Tiger Cub program is for first-grade (or age 7) boys and their adult partners. There are five Tiger Cub achievement areas. The Tiger Cub, working with his adult partner, completes 15 requirements within these areas to earn the Tiger Cub badge. These requirements consist of an exciting series of indoor and outdoor activities just right for a boy in the first grade.

Bobcat. The Bobcat rank is for all boys who join Cub Scouting. Boys will earn this as a Tiger Cub or before earning Wolf, Bear, or Webelo. Parents, you will need to help your boy earn this badge. Remember, you are akela. :-)

Wolf. The Wolf program is for boys who have completed first grade (or are age 8). To earn the Wolf badge, a boy must pass 12 achievements involving simple physical and mental skills.

Bear. The Bear rank is for boys who have completed second grade (or are age 9). There are 24 Bear achievements in four categories. The Cub Scout must complete 12 of these to earn the Bear badge. These requirements are somewhat more difficult and challenging than those for Wolf rank.

Webelos. This program is for boys who have completed third grade (or are age 10). A boy may begin working on the Webelos badge as soon as he joins a Webelos den. This is the first step in his transition from the Webelos den to the Boy Scout troop. As he completes the requirements found in the Webelos Handbook, he will work on activity badges, attend meetings led by adults, and become familiar with the Boy Scout requirements—all leading to the Arrow of Light Award, the highest honor a Cub Scout can earn.

For a downloadable pdf of diagrams of uniforms and where to place patches:


For more information on uniforms and where to place patches than you ever imagined, try this site:

Cubmaster: Lori Keller  Scoutmaster: Joe Keller